top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecoltonclaye

Lake Mead/Mohave desert backcountry 2014


At this time 10 years ago I was enjoying one of the absolute greatest highlights of my life, the first of a pair of two week backcountry excursions in the Lake Mead/Mohave desert area. Great memories of going for days hearing only my own footsteps, seeing only people with fur, feathers or scales, one time taking an afternoon nap in a canyon and waking to see bighorn sheep looking down at me from a bluff above. There was a stretch of five days where temps reached 112, but I enjoy the heat. I was incredibly fortunate to be afforded the time to take these trips. It offered me a unique perspective on life.

  In fact, 2014 was a great year in general. I also was fortunate to meet a community of animal advocates at a sanctuary in Las Vegas, had a fantastic time in Florida during a family gathering to celebrate my grandma's 90th, I took part in my first art exhibit and enjoyed several great concerts.

 Glad to have all the fantastic memories as well as many pics from the desert trips.

The pics also show an alarming difference in the level of Lake Mead between 10 years ago and today.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page